Home JUDICIARY Full List: Judicial Service Commission Nominates 22 Justices for Supreme Court Elevation

Full List: Judicial Service Commission Nominates 22 Justices for Supreme Court Elevation

Supreme Court 1024x570 (1)

The Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) has put forward 22 justices from the Court of Appeal for consideration by the National Judicial Council (NJC) for elevation to the Supreme Court.

The FJSC’s list, disclosed on Thursday, revealed a regional distribution of nominees.

Read Also: NJC Disowns Letter Reordering Seniority of Judges In Kebbi

Notably, the North-Central region boasts six nominations, while the South-West and South-South regions each contribute two.

The South-East and North-East regions both have six and two nominees, respectively.

The announcement follows revelation in September 2023, highlighting the Supreme Court’s diminished roster, reduced to 11 justices after the retirement of Justice Amina Augie.

Justice Amina’s departure, upon reaching the mandatory retirement age of 70, emphasized the urgency of replenishing the court’s bench.

The comprehensive list of nominated justices is as follows:


Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State) – Priority
Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) – Reserve
Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State) – Priority
Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State) – Reserve
Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State) – Priority
Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (Imo State) – Reserve

Read Also: JSC Receives 216 Complaints From Aggrieved Staff Of Kogi High Court


Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State) – Priority
Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State) – Reserve


Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State) – Priority
Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State) – Reserve


Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State) – Priority
Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau) – Reserve
Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State) – Priority
Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) – Reserve
Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State) – Priority
Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State) – Reserve


Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State) – Priority
Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State) – Priority
Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) – Reserve
Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State) – Priority
Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State) – Reserve

The nomination signals a crucial step in fortifying the Supreme Court’s composition, ensuring a robust and representative judiciary at the highest level.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here